BONNET LATCH RECALL ON KIA SEDONA

Thursday, 29 September 2016

  • Kia recalls Sedona MPV for bonnet release catch check
  • Secondary latch may not fully operate if corroded
  • 9,955 vehicles built between 2005 and 2015 affected

Kia Motors (UK) Limited is recalling 9,955 Sedona models built between June 2005 and April 2014 to check the operation of the vehicle’s secondary bonnet catch, which may not operate effectively if corroded.

As part of Kia’s continuous safety monitoring programme, Kia has identified a possibility for the secondary latch to remain in the open position if the device has suffered surface corrosion. Kia is not aware of any UK vehicles suffering a failure or being involved in any accident as a result of this problem with the latch.

The last Kia Sedona sold in the UK was registered in December 2012 but manufacture continued for other markets after this date. All registered owners are being contacted in order to arrange the fitting of a replacement latch – at no cost to the owner. The repair takes 20 minutes.

The recall is being undertaken in conjunction with the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency and although registered keepers will be contacted by mail, owners can contact Kia directly.

Kia’s Customer Services can be reached on 08000 158757 or by e-mail atenquiries@kiacustomercare.co.uk

ENDS

To locate a local dealer or for more information please visit www.kia.co.uk

Stephen Kitson
Director of Corporate Communications

E: skitson@kia.co.uk   
T: 01932 832075 M: 07795 011 936
Daniel Sayles
Press Relations Manager

E: dsayles@kia.co.uk  
T: 01932 832073 M: 07747 149 149
Sara Robinson     
Senior Press Officer

E: srobinson@kia.co.uk
T: 01932 832072 M: 07919 482 332
Carly Escritt       
Senior Press Officer

E: cescritt@kia.co.uk  
T: 01932 832071 M: 07557 268 252
Moyosola Fujamade
Press Officer (press fleet)

E: mfujamade@kia.co.uk  
T: 01932 832069 M: 07471 216 343
Emily Jacklin
Press Office Assistant
E: ejacklin@kia.co.uk  
T: 01932 832079 M: 07795 011 475

Follow Kia on twitter @KiaUKPR
Follow Kia at www.facebook.com/kiamotorsuk
Watch Kia at www.youtube.com/kiamotorsuk

more >>