SOUL TRAIN: THE CROSS COUNTY ELECTRIC CHALLENGE

Monday, 7 September 2015

  • Challenge: race from York to Carlisle castles using electricity alone
  • Nail biting finish in the foreground of Carlisle castle
  • Feature web video available for use without copyright or restrictions

Since the Kia Soul EV's UK launch in October 2014 it has consistently impressed with its class leading homologated range of 132 miles, battery density of 200 Wh/kg, high level of equipment, excellent driving experience and everyday practicality.

To showcase the Soul EV’s competitive attributes, Kia Motors joined forces with influential motoring journalist, Simon McBride, to put it to the ultimate test – a zero emissions race across UK counties, against an electric train.

The task involved driving from York castle to Carlisle castle using electricity alone, a 122 mile direct route by road and a mainline blast by train. Only three rules applied, castle to castle, electric power only and any point to point route was permitted.

The video, which accurately outlines the routes and tracks each journey from point to point, gives an exciting perspective into how all-electric cars can be taken out of their day to day environment and challenged to deliver a variation of driver needs and journeys.

For further information on Kia please visit www.kiapressoffice.com or contact:

Stephen Kitson    Director of Corporate Communications
skitson@kia.co.uk T: 01932 832075 M: 07795 011 936

Daniel Sayles         Press Relations Manager
dsayles@kia.co.uk T: 01932 832073 M: 07747 149 149

Sara Robinson        Senior Press Officer
srobinson@kia.co.uk T: 01932 832072 M: 07919 482 332

Carly Escritt        Senior Press Officer
cescritt@kia.co.uk T: 01932 832071 M: 07557 262 252

Moyo Fujamade    Press Officer (Press Fleet Executive)
mfujamade@kia.co.uk T: 01932 832069 M: 07471 216 343

Hannah Cowton    Press Office Assistant
hcowton@kia.co.uk T: 01932 832079 M: 07795 011 475


Follow Kia at www.twitter.com/KiaUKPR
Follow Kia at www.facebook.com/kiamotorsuk
Watch Kia at www.youtube.com/kiamotorsuk

more >>

Gallery
View gallery

MEDIA
:
0
:
8