KIA RECALL NIRO HYBRID AND PLUG-IN HYBRID MODELS

Friday, 31 May 2019

  • Overheating possible in electrical relay
  • 5,020 UK models recalled for remedial inspection
  • No fires or injuries reported

Committed to customer safety, Kia Motors (UK) Limited is conducting a voluntary recall of 5,020 Kia Niro hybrid and plug-in hybrid models due to possible overheating in an electrical relay.

Vehicles will be inspected at dealerships and affected relays will be replaced at no cost to customers under this recall identified as part of the company’s on-going research and development programme. Kia Motors (UK) Limited is not aware of any failures causing fires nor of any injuries but is undertaking the recall to ensure the issue is swiftly corrected.

The models affected were built between November 2016 and September 2017. Kia Motors (UK) Limited will contact all affected owners but anyone concerned about their vehicle should contact Kia Customer Services on 08000 158757 or email enquiries@kiacustomercare.co.uk. The inspection and potential replacement should take about one hour.

Chris Lear, Director of After Sales commented: “The safety of our customers is our number one priority and we are taking this action to ensure their vehicles are not affected in any way.”

Ends

For further information on Kia please visit www.kiapressoffice.com or contact:

Stephen Kitson
Director of Corporate Communications

E: skitson@kia.co.uk
T: 01932 832 075 M: 07795 011 936

Daniel Sayles
Press Relations Manager

E: dsayles@kia.co.uk
T: 01932 832 073 M: 07747 149 149

Sara Robinson
Senior Press Officer

E: srobinson@kia.co.uk
T: 01932 832 072 M: 07919 482 332

Moyosola Fujamade
Press Officer (events)

E: mfujamade@kia.co.uk
T: 01932 832 069 M: 07471 216 343

Lauren Martin
Press Officer (press fleet)

E: lmartin@kia.co.uk
T: 01932 832 071 M: 07557 268 252

Rebecca Gibbs
Press Office Assistant

E: rgibbs@kia.co.uk
T: 01932 832 079 M: 07795 011 475

Follow Kia on twitter @KiaUKPR

Follow Kia at www.facebook.com/kiamotorsuk

Watch Kia at www.youtube.com/kiamotorsuk

more >>

Gallery
View gallery

MEDIA
:
0
:
1