KIA LEADS WORLD CAR OF THE YEAR NOMINATIONS

Monday, 6 November 2017

  • Kia receive six nominations
  • Most nominations for a single brand
  • Includes about-to-be-launched Kia Stinger gran turismo

Kia products have topped the nomination list for the World Car of the Year Awards with six nominations for its newly launched products around the world.

Indicating Kia’s recent product offensive the WCOTY jurors will be considering the Picanto, Stonic, Niro and Stinger models in two different categories – World Car and World Urban Car.

Director and Vice Chair of the WCOTY Jury, Mike Rutherford commented: “It is nothing short of astonishing that Kia has beaten German giants BMW and Volkswagen into joint second place. On its own it has more nominations than all the legendary American brands put together. That is something nobody would have predicted a decade ago.”

Paul Philpott, President and Chief Executive of Kia Motors (UK) Limited said: “Although nominations guarantee nothing, it is very flattering that our new models have received this kind of attention. We are delighted but not flattered that our product offensive has been recognised. We’ll be flattered if one of them wins!”

The World Car of the Year is judged by 83 media jurors from 24 countries and contenders must be available for delivery across large parts of the globe during the first half of 2018.

Ends

For further information on Kia please visit www.kiapressoffice.com or contact:

Stephen Kitson
Director of Corporate Communications

E: skitson@kia.co.uk

T: 01932 832 075 M: 07795 011 936

Daniel Sayles
Press Relations Manager

E: dsayles@kia.co.uk

T: 01932 832 073 M: 07747 149 149

Sara Robinson
Senior Press Officer

E: srobinson@kia.co.uk

T: 01932 832 072 M: 07919 482 332

Moyosola Fujamade
Press Officer (Events)

E: mfujamade@kia.co.uk

T: 01932 832 069 M: 07471 216 343

Lauren Martin

Press Officer (Press Fleet)

E: lmartin@kia.co.uk

T: 01932 832 071 M: 07557 268 252

Chloe Farmer
Press Office Assistant

E: cfarmer@kia.co.uk

T: 01932 832 079 M: 07795 011 475

Follow Kia on twitter @KiaUKPR

Follow Kia at www.facebook.com/kiamotorsuk

Watch Kia at www.youtube.com/kiamotorsuk

more >>

Gallery
View gallery

MEDIA
:
0
:
1