SPORTAGE REMAINS TOP CHOICE FOR CONSUMERS

Friday, 4 November 2016

With a steady October for car sales in the UK the Kia Sportage remains a strong seller for the brand with over 3,400 models sold in the month.

Kia Motors (UK) Ltd are currently ranked 8th with 6,590 total sales according to October figures released by SMMT.

The model - now in its fourth generation has seen a continued rise in sales since going on sale in February this year with over 31,400 sold since launch and 3,471 sold in October. In second place is the ever popular small city car the Picanto with over 800 sold in the month, in third place is the cee'd with 632 sales.

Kia is still bucking the trend compared to the total market with YtD market share sitting at 3.41 per cent with sales up 14 percent on 2015 against a market that is 2.5 per cent up. October's share is 3.66 per cent again with sales up 14 per cent on 2015 compared to a market that shows a more steady 1.4 per cent rise.

Paul Philpott President and CEO of Kia Motors UK said of the data: ‘This is an excellent result in October - another record for the brand - built on the consistent hard work of our 187-strong dealer network and the appeal of our products. We have now sold more cars in the first ten months of 2016 than the entire year in 2015 so will be setting another new record. However we shall continue to watch the market and the various influences both at home and in the USA carefully.' 

Ends

For further information on Kia please visit www.kiapressoffice.com or contact:

Stephen Kitson
Director of Corporate Communications

E: skitson@kia.co.uk   
T: 01932 832075 M: 07795 011 936
Daniel Sayles
Press Relations Manager

E: dsayles@kia.co.uk  
T: 01932 832073 M: 07747 149 149
Sara Robinson     
Senior Press Officer

E: srobinson@kia.co.uk
T: 01932 832072 M: 07919 482 332
Carly Escritt       
Senior Press Officer

E: cescritt@kia.co.uk  
T: 01932 832071 M: 07557 262 252
Moyosola Fujamade
Press Officer (press fleet)

E: mfujamade@kia.co.uk  
T: 01932 832 069 M: 07471 216 343
Emily Jacklin
Press Office Assistant
E: ejacklin@kia.co.uk  
T: 01932 832079 M: 07795 011 475

Follow Kia on twitter @KiaUKPR
Follow Kia at www.facebook.com/kiamotorsuk
Watch Kia at www.youtube.com/kiamotorsuk

more >>